Top of the spire

The photo I have chosen for the Daily Post’s photo challenge, atop, is of a church. High up on the very top of the steeple or spire (is there a difference?) is a weather vane. The height and the angle make it difficult to see its form. Traditional weather vane shapes include a cockerel (rooster), leading to the alternative name, weathercock. I know of one in the shape of a monk to remind passers-by of the history of that church.

Just imagine the view if the weathervane had eyes to see!

Spire with weathervane
Spire with weather vane
5 thoughts on “Top of the spire

  1. Wow, beautiful photo against that sky! Where is the church? Interesting fact: I realise that another person who I follow has done a photo from the same theme – I wonder if you’re using prompts from the same source? This would mean the ‘Daily Post’ (wh I haven’t heard of otherwise than on your blog) must be an internet thing, as those posts are from the USA.

    Like

    1. The Daily Post is a WordPress thing- with world-wide participation. The photo is the same one I used on More than Writers. It is in Croydon. The links on this blog are a very subtle shade darker than the other text. I have tried using bright blue instead, but it hardly increased the click-through rate. Sue

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Interesting about links: I have found similarly – I suspect people often don’t bother with links, as they read the blog but maybe don’t have time to take any of the information further … it’s a bit galling, since adding a link takes up a bit more editing time when posting, but I have to forgive them as I often have to speed-read blogs too – rather that than ignore them, I know they take time and thought to write! So I tend to add a comment, if anything, rather than follow a link. How about you?

        Like

      2. I often forget the Reader posts – I act on the ones which come to my email inbox! I wonder if blogging is worth it sometimes, since everyone must have the same problems – two ‘real’ friends from way back, people from church &Uni, said ‘Don’t send us your blog, but I shall read any emails with family news’. It felt rather hurtful at the time. Esp as individual e-mails take as much time as a letter to write. But I can see the point. Esp. as they are not writers & have no need to self-publicise on the web!

        Liked by 1 person

Did you enjoy this post? Comments welcome.

