Low tide at St Bees

After the guided walk in Allonby bay I resolved to show more interest in other beaches.  I have had the chance to examine rock pools on St Bees beach twice since June.  The first time I was pleasantly surprised to find some of the creatures I learned about from Ann Lingard.  The second time I was even more excited by what I found with the help of a friend.  Among other things she spotted two herons on the beach.  They were too far away for the lens of my camera phone, but do appear in some of my shots.  It helps if you know where they are though!

Altogether we saw sea gooseberries, winkles, barnacles, jellyfish, jewelled anemones, a live crab, limpets, evidence of worms, (lugworms, which live in burrows and mason and honeycomb worms which live in colonies built from sand).  We also saw different species of seaweed.  My photos are from our two walks separated by two weeks.

On the first walk we noticed winkles on the rocks, stretching into the distance. This area is a popular feeding ground for seabirds.

(Hovering over the photos causes the captions to appear.The sea gooseberry is a spherical creature in the part of its photo which the caption covers!)

Stop press: Thanks to Ann Lingard for identifying a creature I have captioned incorrectly. On Twitter she wrote (Btw, ‘tiny yellow winkle’ is dogwhelk Nucella, preys on barnacles & mussels).

Did you enjoy this post? Comments welcome.

