A walk from Scargill House

I recently went to Yorkshire to spend a weekend in the company of writers.  It was a fiction-writing weekend.  The weekend was well-organised with good food and good company.  I took some time out from listening to and writing words to go on a walk with five other people.  We went to a local land mark known as Connie Pie (short for Conistone Pie).  The weather was ideal for walking – dry but not too hot.

Apart from taking snaps of the views, I also recorded some wild flowers, which I did find familiar.  I’m not aware of these species growing near my home.  At the beginning of June there were a few late spring flowers and more summer flowers.  In Scargill House I found some folders with pictures and names of the local flora.  There were also bird books to help identify the birds, which visited a feeding station outside one of the windows. I also learned from a book of long-distance walks that the Dales Way, which runs from Ilkley to Windermere, passes close to Scargill House.

Did you enjoy this post? Comments welcome.

