A cross-country trip by train

I decided to ignore the advice, which came with my train tickets and set off earlier to avoid any possibility of missing my first connection.  As a result I had some time to look around at Carlisle station, which is undergoing a major refurbishment.

In honour of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II’s 90th birthday, local schoolchildren had provided artwork to decorate the station.

Taking photos from fast trains is not easy, particularly along an electrified route.  There may be a post or a tree blocking the beautiful view.

From the train (looking east)
From the train (looking east)

I didn’t take any photos on the third train, which took me through rural Lancashire and Yorkshire.

On the way back three days later I only needed two trains.  From Lancaster the route was along the coast. A few of the photos are worth sharing.  It is a very beautiful journey with hills on one side and the sea on the other for much of the time.

Next week I may post some photos from the time I spent in Yorkshire.

Did you enjoy this post? Comments welcome.

