Y is for Yucca

This is my post for the letter Y in the Blogging from A to Z in April Challenge.  My theme is plants.

None of the gardens belonging to places I have lived have boasted a yucca.  A neighbour in the next street had one in her front garden, when I was a child.  Being determined to have a photo of a yucca for my Y post, I was being vigilant as I travelled around, waiting for the flowering season of this unusual plant.

There is one in a garden on the edge of the next town, but no opportunity to snap it.

The plants here in Northern England mostly flower later than farther south as was the case with my L post.

I was about to go to Kent and was hopeful that my quest for a photo would be successful there.

On arrival in Kent Mum and I went to look around the grounds and I found a yucca.  It was in flower, but past its best.  I took a photo while the weather was fine and before all the flowers fell off.

Yucca at Burrswood
Yucca at Burrswood

Later that week we visited some gardens nearby and there were some wonderful examples of yuccas.

Yucca at Groombridge Place
Yucca at Groombridge Place

On my return I told a few people about my quest and the outcome.  Some were unaware that these plants flower.  Others had difficulty with my accent.  I prefer the northern U sound to ŭ.  (My yucca rhymes with a southerner’s “book a”, whereas a southern accent sounds like “buck a”.)

How do you pronounce Yucca?

There are very short posts on Sue’s Trifles for the A to Z in April Challenge.

2 thoughts on “Y is for Yucca

Did you enjoy this post? Comments welcome.

