X is for Unknown

This is my post for the letter X in the Blogging from A to Z in April Challenge.  My theme is plants.

There are flowers beginning with X, but I decided to have a bit of fun with this post.

When I began collecting my photos together for this challenge, I had two species in the garden, to which I could not put a name.

Plant with a name I could not remember
Plant with a name I could not remember

One I had known once, but could not find in The  Dictionary of Garden Plants in Colour.  I had even asked the followers of one of my blogs for help in identifying it.  The other was given to me by a friend, who could not provide a name for it.  It is not growing in a good position, but bravely produces one small flower each year.

Plant given me by a friend
Plant given me by a friend

My two unknowns should perhaps be x and y, but I have a good example for Y and a story to tell about it.

I had the opportunity to look through The Readers Digest encyclopedia of garden plants and flowers, where I found both my unknowns.  They are Lithospermum diffusum (Heavenly Blue) and Sisyrinchium brachyphus.

No wonder I had forgotten the one I had once known. I posted another unknown for my theme reveal post. Perhaps the comment thread has provided an answer.

There are very short posts on Sue’s Trifles for the A to Z in April Challenge.

3 thoughts on “X is for Unknown

Did you enjoy this post? Comments welcome.

