S is for Skimmia

This is my post for the letter S in the Blogging from A to Z in April Challenge.  My theme is plants.

Hands up if you have heard of this plant!

Skimmia
Skimmia

Ours was bought at a garden centre years ago.  I have to admit that I hadn’t heard of it previously.  It is a shrub, which has male and female flowers on different plants.  Ours is a male.  The flowers are pretty and attract insects, but there are no berries.  As it happens our neighbour has a female plant and we enjoy seeing bright berries through the fence.

Female skimmia growing through the fence
Female skimmia growing through the fence

The leaves on this plant are a similar shape to the more popular laurel, which is often used for hedges.  The female plant can grow very large if there is sufficient space.  The male (from my observations) does not grow as fast.

There is a very large skimmia in the grounds of our parish church.  When I hear anyone saying, “Isn’t that a wonderful laurel?” I can’t resist telling them its real name.

There are very short posts on Sue’s Trifles for the A to Z in April Challenge.

6 thoughts on “S is for Skimmia

  1. I have a beautiful Skimmia in the back garden which is in flower and looking gorgeous at the moment. I bought two more for the front garden, but they are both male plants and much smaller. I had not realised until a couple of years ago that you could get male and female plants.

    Liked by 1 person

Did you enjoy this post? Comments welcome.

