R is for Rosemary

This is my post for the letter R in the Blogging from A to Z in April Challenge.  My theme is plants.

Rosemary, that’s for remembrance.

Rosemary is grown as a herb. It complements lamb. The flowers are rather insignificant. It is easily propagated from cuttings taken early in the year.
Like some of my earlier flowers – Iris and Poppy – Rosemary is a girls’ name. Fern is also used as a name, as is one of my choices for later letters.

Rosemary
Rosemary

The obvious choice for R is perhaps Rose, which I mentioned briefly in my post for H. It too is a girl’s name.

William Shakespeare (whose death in 1616 is being commemorated this year) mentioned A Rose (by any other name) and Rosemary (that’s for remembrance). We’ll meet him again in my post for the letter V.  Any guesses?

There are very short posts on Sue’s Trifles for the A to Z in April Challenge.

4 thoughts on “R is for Rosemary

Did you enjoy this post? Comments welcome.

