P is for Poppy

This is my post for the letter P in the Blogging from A to Z in April Challenge.  My theme is plants.

One day last June I went out into the garden with my phone and took a few photos.  I was particularly pleased with two of them.  The first was of perennial cornflower.  I used it on Twitter with the comment that it was the second-best photo I had taken that day.

Here, patient readers, is the one I regarded as the best.

Welsh poppy
Welsh poppy

It is of a Welsh poppy.  The most usual colour of a Welsh poppy is yellow, but they are sometimes a pretty shade of orange.  They have fairly small seed-heads compared with some varieties of poppy.  I dead head most of them or the garden would be full of them.  My preference for the orange ones may mean that over time they could become more common than the yellow ones (at least in our garden).

Other poppies grow in our garden too.  I don’t remember planting them.  There are opium poppies in shades of pink and mauve and the occasional bright red poppy common in wheat fields.  I do remember planting Californian poppies, which come out in lovely bright shades of golden orange or pink.  I know there are some bloggers, who would regard these as weeds.  In England they are not native and perhaps that is their attraction.  Although they are usually treated as annual I have known some plants to survive the winter.  They have long pointed seed-heads.

Some neighbours grow spectacular oriental poppies.  All ripe poppy seed-heads are shaken by the wind to distribute the tiny seeds at a distance from the parent plant.  Gardeners may collect the seeds and plant them in a particular spot.

What sort of poppies grow where you are?

There are very short posts on Sue’s Trifles for the A to Z in April Challenge.

12 thoughts on “P is for Poppy

Did you enjoy this post? Comments welcome.

