N is for Narcissus

This is my post for the letter N in the Blogging from A to Z in April Challenge.  My theme is plants.

The flower in the photo is in the narcissus family.  So are daffodils.  They grow from bulbs and flower in the spring.  They are mostly yellow, white or a mixture of either of these colours and/or orange.

Narcissi
Narcissi

Like the irises I mentioned in my post for the letter I, narcissi may be attractive to mice.  Sometimes they multiply underground and become too crowded to flower.  Then they need to be dug up and replanted with more space to grow.

Some varieties are very attractive, when grown in bowls indoors.  Once I tried this with some ‘Paperwhite’ narcissi.  Unfortunately they made me sneeze so much I had to give them to a friend!

There are very short posts on Sue’s Trifles for the A to Z in April Challenge.

5 thoughts on “N is for Narcissus

  1. J here, of the #atozchallenge Arlee Bird’s A to Z Ambassador Team.
    How has the challenge been going for you so far? Are you meeting your goals of posting and hopping to other blogs? M marked the halfway point!
    My blog’s giveaway is still going! I’m encouraging everyone to visit more stops. There’s a post about how to better use the image alt code — featured on the main A to Z blog as well as my own.
    http://jlennidornerblog.what-are-they.com
    Good to know. I wouldn’t have guessed they were in the same family.

    Like

    1. Hi jlenni, I had to unspam your comment. I had all my posts on this blog scheduled before April 1 (blushing smiley). Because I am using all my own photos, I began taking them last May and have been preparing the posts over the intervening months. The first few were adapted from another alternative challenge, which I didn’t complete as I decided it would work better in the official A to Z. Sue

      Like

Did you enjoy this post? Comments welcome.

