I is for Iris

This is my post for the letter I in the Blogging from A to Z in April Challenge.  My theme is plants.

The iris in my photo is a variety, which grows from a bulb.  These are sometimes known as Dutch irises.   At one time there were over one hundred such flowers in our garden.  Some were purple, others white or yellow.  Nowadays we are fortunate to have any.

Iris
Iris

So what happened?

Without any real proof, we suspect that a field-mouse has been eating the bulbs.  There was a hole in the flowerbed, which was the right size for such a creature and we know they live locally.  One can sometimes be seen eating the food put out for the birds.

There are other varieties of iris, which grow from rhizomes.  The most beautiful irises I have ever seen were in the Japanese Garden in Portland, Oregon.

There are very short posts on Sue’s Trifles for the A to Z in April Challenge.

5 thoughts on “I is for Iris

  1. This one looks really pretty. I am fascinated again how many flowers are named after latin names as we in Germany use the same (or nearly the same) as you use.

    Liked by 1 person

Did you enjoy this post? Comments welcome.

