G is for Geranium

Geraniums were part of my first Blogging from A to Z in April post for G in 2013.   They also feature in Gardening notes and my October flowers from 2014.  My theme for this challenge is plants.

Many people (possibly most people) associate the name geranium with the popular pot-plant (or summer bedding plant) with the botanical name pelargonium.

My photo is of a cultivated member of the geranium (or cranesbill) family.  The seeds of these plants are formed in long sharp pods, which resemble the beak (bill) of a crane.  The pink ones are the most invasive of the ones in our garden.  There are also white and bluish ones there.  They have a long flowering season and may be encouraged to go on flowering by dead-heading.

Geranium
Geranium

In the mild wet winter of 2015-2016 a few flowers lingered until after Christmas, although they had dropped their petals by New Year’s Day.

This is the first of my A to Z posts for 2016 not previously featured on this blog.

Sue’s Trifles blog is also Blogging from A to Z in April with very short posts.

16 thoughts on “G is for Geranium

  1. Geranium day! 😉
    My Mom had called me earlier to tell me that she has bought some today and planted them at her balcony. I don’t know what colour she has bought but I think that she has some of the filled ones which have “bigger” flowers… Well, I will see them tomorrow.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Geraniums – Cranesbill variety – yes, I have planted 3 this year , 2 of them today. This is following the very mild wet winter, as oddly for such apparently hardy and successful and indeed invasive plants, mine are right down in numbers several having died, or died right back. Possibly after that protracted flowering caused by the mild weather into December. And I do value them for their normally long spring & summer flowering season. They are close relatives of the wild Cranesbill, which has a strong smell when crushed, and appears also in my garden as a weed – or unwelcome wildflower! Have you ever noticed, as I have, that the cultivated ones can develop that smell over time, and old plants, perhaps divided from one which got rather large, have it? I have pink ones, and have just replaced blues, and am hoping my white one has survived.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We have a variant with strange shaped flowers – rather spiky. I’ve been weeding out seedlings, but expect to be overrun with the mature plants again after our very wet, very mild winter. (One-upmanship!) Thanks for reading and commenting. The blue ones have the strongest smell. Sue

      Liked by 1 person

  3. When I first move to Australia, we had a “weed” (as my husband called it) in our garden. I wasn’t terribly familiar with Australian flora, but it looked like and smelled like (very much smelled like) a geranium.

    I was delighted to learn a few years later that i was right. But boy, they can be pervasive. Pretty, but pervasive.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Gorgeous photos. I’ve heard of geraniums but don’t recall ever having any. I know I haven’t grown any in the yard. Would enjoy them, I’m sure, but our summers are so hot it only certain flowers survive. Thanks for stopping by my blog today. Have a great weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

Did you enjoy this post? Comments welcome.

