Flowers in the sunshine

On Wednesday we enjoyed a rare summery day.  A cliff top walk with a friend included colourful butterflies and wild flowers.  White and pink clover smelled sweet. Vetches, a second flush of flowers on thrift (sea pinks), tiny thyme flowers in deep purple, yellow relatives of dandelion, pineapple mayweed and fluffy meadowsweet are the ones I remember noticing.

My friend and I saw a small tortoiseshell butterfly, several brown ones and a stubborn one with folded wings, which refused to show us its true colours.  I had already seen a red admiral on my way to meet her.

A perfect white rose
A perfect white rose

In the evening the sunshine tempted me outside to snap a bloom on our white rose.  Pity about the shadow!  Then I noticed an illuminated poppy flower.

Poppy
Poppy
Did you enjoy this post? Comments welcome.

